Going Bananas !

Of what use is an over ripe banana? You might even just cringe at the thought…

the delectable super-food fruit that adorned by fruit basket and was a daily morning staple, gradually languishes getting mushier and wrinkly. (Read- unfit for consumption- no more desirable!)

I wasn’t throwing these “left-out from eating , now over ripe” (inedible) bananas away! Why? …. Aware that this state yields the truest essence of the fruit, making it an ideal ingredient for its flavours !

So while I’m on a strict weight loss regime and attempting to follow a diet , the potential contained in the fruit basket makes me reconsider. After having spent the entire afternoon reasoning, I decide to just go with it! after all it’s a Sunday and comes only once a week!

Just like the elders in our family are attuned to pampering us, these matured bananas signal me with their aroma to spoil myself with some succulent cake!

In a tribute to this batch of ‘left- over unwanted’ fruit and an irony of sorts- from being an eye sore, I mould the fragrant batter into beautiful cupcakes.

They rise and shine and bake in all their glory! While I watch in satisfaction of having a little, something healthy on a Sunday, celebrating a cheat day.

Leave a comment